Andrew MacIsaac, CEO

Over the past decade Andrew has successfully established over $75 million in partnerships between industry, academia, government, and donors, and developed catalysts for economic investment totalling more than $200 million. With a background in economics and public sector management, Andrew has worked with UBC, and the University of Alberta, and is currently the Assistant Dean for the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. Andrew sits on the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce, Policy Committee, the Edmonton Health City Steering Committee, and the board of the Canadian Mental Health Association, Edmonton.


Pat Mayo, Board Chair & Chief scientific advisor

With a PhD in Pharmacokinetics and a BSc (Pharm), Pat is an expert in drug development with extensive industry experience. Pat has worked as a clinician, instructor, senior scientist with MDS Pharma and Isotechnika, and consultant across the pharmaceutical sector including Aurinia, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Cardiocore, ContraVir, Covance, Janssen, Knoll, Merck, Novartis, and Roche. Pat has directed and designed commercial pre-clinical work, phase 1-3 clinical trials, and presented regularly on behalf of industry to the FDA, EMA, and TPD.


Collaborating Academic Facility Leadership

_DSC6189 copy.jpg

Raimar Löbenberg, Director, DDIC

Dr. Raimar Löbenberg is an expert in area of pharmaceutics, drug development and delivery. He is a member of the United States Pharmacopoeia (USP) expert committee for Dietary Supplements and Herbal Medicines and chair of the subcommittee for performance testing of dietary supplements, member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS) Steering Committee for Drug Release and Dissolution Testing and vice chair of Speciality Committee for Pharmaceutical Quality of Traditional Medicines of the World Foundation of Traditional Chinese Medicines, and a past president of the Canadian Society for Pharmaceutical Sciences.


Neal Davies, Dean, ualberta pharmacy & pharm sci

As Dean of the University of Alberta’s Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Neal Davies is a passionate proponent of the value to be found at the intersection of science and industry. Dr. Davies has over 25 years of experience as a researcher working with industry funders and the National Institutes of Health. While leading the faculty Dr. Davies maintains an active and highly collaborative research program focused on pharmacokinetics and drug delivery and serves on the boards of several pharmaceutical science journals and the Institute of Health Economics.


Advisory Committee

Launa Aspeslet


Brian COrrigan

Global Head, Clinical Pharmacology, Pfizer

Matt Coffey

CEO, Oncolytics

Salma Jutt

VP US & Global Marketing, Abbott

Sailaja Bhaskar

Executive Director, R&D, Purdue Pharma

Robert Foster

CEO, ContraVir

Jamie Lucien

Biotech Patent Lawyer

Majid Vakilynejad

Senior Director, Takeda


Interested in becoming a member of API?

Contact science@appliedpharma.ca